Grand Rapids Weapon Charges Lawyers
A Team-Based Approach To Your Complex Case
Our attorneys at Scozzari Law, PLLC, have experience not only as lawyers but also as legal instructors, activists and sportsmen. Raoul worked as a deputy sheriff for 17 years. An advocate for your Second Amendment rights, Raoul currently instructs the legal portion of Michigan’s concealed carry classes. Should you be facing an obstacle in your right to keep and bear arms or a criminal charge, our firm will put our experience to work for you.
Carrying A Gun In Michigan
In Michigan, open and concealed carry are both legal in certain circumstances. A person 18 years or older who has their gun registered in their name may carry openly without a permit, and individuals 21 years or older may obtain a concealed pistol license (CPL) for concealed carry within the state. (Note that there are some areas that are off-limits to concealed carry, such as schools and hospitals.)
Michigan’s gun laws can be complicated to understand and difficult to navigate. In Michigan, both open and concealed carry of firearms is permissible under certain circumstances. However, if a person carries a concealed pistol without a permit, they can be charged with a felony that carries a maximum punishment of five years in prison and fines of up to $2,500.
Keep in mind that certain criminal convictions can also lead to the revocation of firearms rights. Any individual convicted of a felony involving the unlawful possession or distribution of a firearm or the unlawful use of an explosive could face enhanced penalties, such as a mandatory 2-year prison term in addition to their underlying sentencing.
Some seemingly unrelated criminal convictions, like a conviction for misdemeanor domestic violence, can result in having your firearms rights revoked. If a person is convicted of a felony or a crime punishable by four years or more in prison, they will be prohibited from possessing, using, transporting, selling or buying a firearm or ammunition in Michigan. A violation of any of these regulations is a felony punishable by up to five years in prison and fines of up to $5,000.
In some cases, your firearms rights can be restored. Yes: We do handle firearms rights restoration cases.
Driving Under The Influence Convictions And Firearms
In Michigan, it is illegal to be intoxicated and in possession of a firearm. More stringent conditions apply to alcohol if you have a permit to carry a concealed firearm. If a person is convicted of DUI, he or she will lose his or her permit to carry a concealed firearm. If a person has one prior DUI conviction, he or she must wait three years from the conviction date before applying for a permit to carry a concealed firearm. With two prior DUI convictions, it’s eight years.
Call 616-828-0687 for skilled legal representation today.
Past Convictions And Firearms
Michigan recently made it easier to have selected crimes expunged. In some cases, depending on the crime and on your criminal record, you can have a court restore your firearms rights if you have paid all the fines, served the imprisonment term, successfully completed parole and probation, and applied to the court.
Free consultation on expungement often takes less than 10 minutes on the phone.
Questions? Contact Scozzari Law, PLLC.
If you have been charged with a weapons-related crime, it is imperative that you speak to a lawyer as soon as possible. Depending on the circumstances, you could face confiscation of your firearms and/or a permanent change in your right to possess and use firearms. Your criminal history may also impact the outcome of a firearms-related charge. Our legal team at Scozzari Law, PLLC, will put our professional experience to work for you to protect and defend your Second Amendment rights.